Organisers name moderators for US presidential debates

The Commission on Presidential Debates announced the names of the moderators for the three exchanges between Democrat Hillary Clintonand Republican Donald Trump and the single event involving the candidates for vice president.

The first Clinton-Trump debate will take place September 26 at Hofstra University of New York, The Commission on Presidential moderated by NBC “Nightly News” anchor Lester Holt, EFE news reported the commission as saying on Friday.

On October 4, the vice presidential candidates, Democratic Senator Tim Kaine of Virginia, and Indiana Republican Governor Mike Pence, will square off at Longwood University in Farmville, Virginia, with CBS News correspondent Elaine Quijano as moderator.

The second Trump-Clinton debate, a town hall set for October 9 at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, will be moderated by CNN’s Anderson Cooper and ABC News chief global affairs correspondent Martha Raddatz.

The final debate between Clinton and Trump is scheduled for October 19 at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Fox News anchor Chris Wallace will moderate.

The Commission said that Steve Cully, executive producer and political editor at C-SPAN network, will participate as “supporting moderator” in all four debates.

Last month, the Commission – a private organization controlled by the Republican and Democratic parties – said that only candidates with at least 15 percent support in an average of five national opinion polls will be allowed to participate in the debates.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s